Showing posts with label cyclist-in-the-middle-of-the-road. Show all posts
Showing posts with label cyclist-in-the-middle-of-the-road. Show all posts

Thursday, 17 May 2018

fuckwit RLJ at race speed

People ask us: why no coverage of RLJ-ing cyclists? Well, we generally leave that to grumpy Havana Coffe Hamid, on account of his soundtrack choices and spelling skills. But when the opportunity arises, well, we do

Today then, this fuckwit


This is filmed from St Pauls Road, leading from the dull part of town, Clifton, to the more interesting bits, albeit after a final bit of climbing and a university area inevitably full of texting students.

Approaching the lights, they're red, time to hang around for a while waiting for green. And then slowly off, in case the BMW driver is in an hurry. No problems there, except carving out from the left is someone on a road bike, looking like they are near that 20 mph limit, blowing straight through the red light to make a high speed turn into St Pauls Road.



On the shout of "fuckwit" you can see some surprise and a bit of a wobble, though delayed. Leaning into the corner like that, he was fully committed to the bend: the only two options were: carry on or come off sliding sideways exploring the concept "road rash" more fully. It'd have been interesting to see if a scream of "no brakes" would make him choose the latter,

What were the risks this fuckwit exposed themselves to?

  • If the car he had cut up on the inside had gone through the light themselves: crash
  • If the BMW turning right from Tyndall's Park Road had been in a hurry: crash
  • If a vehicle coming out of St Pauls road had been in a hurry, he'd have cycled into it.

And of course, if our tax-dodging reporter hadn't been so slow setting off: they'd have been in the crash too. Which is why we think this fuckwit deserves coverage.

Monday, 23 April 2012

Gratuitous Abuse of a Bus Driver

One of our regular commentors -and the sole "outed" barge owner in our audience- YZ09AFD- is heard in this video abusing a bus driver down at the centre.

The harsh truth is that bit of the Centre is designed for buses. Not bicycles, or that one-way-at-a-time light at the end would have a bicycle bypass, or at least respond to waiting bicycles, bicycles whose owners then recklessly cycle through red lights.

It's not designed for pedestrians either, otherwise the ped crossing at the other end would actually do something useful.

It is for buses only, it radiates that fact, and the way they treat "DaveW" or anyone else selfish enough to cycle down it is entirely justified. We just wish there were more minicab firms in the city to keep these underpeople in their place.